Atlas Experiment

Link on Title and internal “color reference links” will highlight links to subject locations. Well worth the visit.

 The ATLAS detector consists of four major components

(place your cursor over the links below to identify the location of the components):

  • inner detector (yellow) – measures the momentum of each charged particle
  • calorimeter (orange and green) – measures the energies carried by the particles
  • muon spectrometer (blue) – identifies and measures muons
  • magnet system (grey) – bending charged particles for momentum measurement

The interactions in the ATLAS detectors will create an enormous dataflow. To digest this data we need:

This entry was posted in Atlas, Sonification, sonofusion, Sonoluminence, Sound and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s